Skip to content

Climate change is a significant business issue and we take it seriously. Today, AGL, BHP Billiton, GE, Mirvac, Santos, Unilever, Wesfarmers and Westpac Group published a statement from our CEOs supporting the Australian government in securing an effective outcome from the Paris climate change negotiations in December.

We support Australia’s bipartisan commitment to limit global warming to less than two degrees Celsius above pre-industrial levels, alongside other nations within an international agreement. Australia can play its fair part in these global efforts. Early global agreement on the steps to achieve this goal will allow for a responsible transition to decarbonised and sustainable economic development.

Businesses, governments and the community all have a role to play and a responsibility to contribute to solutions. We want to play our part.

Read the signed statement (PDF 465kb)

Background

We represent a diverse group of companies from the energy, resources, retail, infrastructure, technology, consumer goods, property, services, banking and finance sectors. Together we employ over 620,000 people across 175 countries. Between us we provide products and services to the majority of Australians. We also emit around 12 per cent of Australia’s national greenhouse gas emissions.

For more information on the companies’ climate change policies and the actions they are individually taking see below.

For media enquiries please see contacts below.

BHP Billiton

http://www.bhpbilliton.com/society/climate-change

Paul Hitchins
Media Relations Specialist
M: 0419 315 001
T: (03) 9609 2592
E: Paul.Hitchins@bhpbilliton.com

AGL

http://www.agl.com.au/about-agl/what-we-stand-for/sustainability/environment-and-climate-change

Kathryn Lamond
Media Manager
M:0424 465 464
T: 02 9921 2170
E: klamond@agl.com.au

GE

http://www.ge.com/about-us/ecomagination

Joanne Woo
Director, External Communications,
Brand and Public Affairs
M: 0409 330 731
T: (03) 8576 7039
E: joanne.woo@ge.com

Mirvac

www.mirvac.com/change

Marie Festa
Group Executive, Culture and Reputation
T: (02) 9080 8956
E: Marie.festa@mirvac.com

Santos

https://www.santos.com/library/Santos_climate_change_policy.pdf

Rob Malinauskas
Manager, Media Relations
M: 0438 862 132
T: (08) 8116 5918
E: Robert.Malinauskas@santos.com

Unilever

https://www.unilever.com/sustainable-living/

Emma Peacock
Head of Sustainable
Business and Communications
T: (02) 9869 6100
E: emma.peacock@unilever.com

Wesfarmers

http://sustainability.wesfarmers.com.au/

Alan Carpenter
Executive General Manager,
Corporate Affairs
T: (08) 9327 4267
E: ACarpenter@wesfarmers.com.au

Kate Chaney
Sustainability Manager,
Corporate Affairs
T: (08) 9327 4205
E: KChaney@wesfarmers.com.au

Westpac Group

http://www.westpac.com.au/docs/pdf/aw/sustainability-community/WestpacCCEPositionStatement2014.pdf

Andrew Tubb
Senior Manager, Media, Corporate Affairs
and Sustainability
M: 0411 014 771
T: (02) 8254 3118
E: atubb@westpac.com.au

Supported by The Climate Institute

See the signed statement (PDF 337kb)

Subscribe to news alerts

No keyword(s) entered

Please ensure you enter a keyword and try searching again

Invalid email

Sorry, we are unable to subscribe you. Please ensure you have entered a valid email address and try again.

Subscription received

Thank you for subscribing to BHP Billiton news alerts. Please check your email for confirmation of your subscription.

Loading the player...