Skip to content

Number 15/06

BHP Billiton announced today that it has entered into an agreement for the sale of Southern Cross Fertilisers Pty Ltd (SCF) to Incitec Pivot Limited.

SCF produces high-analysis phosphate fertilisers from its facilities in northern Queensland and was originally acquired by BHP Billiton as part of the acquisition of WMC Resources Limited (WMC).  The WMC fertilisers business was identified as a non-core asset at the time of the acquisition and its sale follows the earlier sale of SCF’s one third interest in Hi-Fert Pty Ltd in December 2005.

Completion of the transaction is expected to occur during July 2006, following the conclusion of SCF’s scheduled triennial major maintenance outage, with the final consideration subject to working capital adjustments, if any.  Completion is subject to the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission not opposing the sale.

For further information please contact:

Australia
Jane Belcher, Investor Relations
Tel: +61 3 9609 3952  Mobile: +61 417 031 653
Email: Jane.H.Belcher@bhpbilliton.com

Samantha Evans, Media Relations
Tel: +61 3 9609 2898  Mobile: +61 400 693 915
Email: Samantha.Evans@bhpbilliton.com

United Kingdom
Mark Lidiard, Investor & Media Relations
Tel: +44 20 7802 4156  Mobile: +44 7769 934 942
Email: Mark.T.Lidiard@bhpbilliton.com

Illtud Harri, Media Relations
Tel: +44 20 7802 4195  Mobile: +44  7920 237 246
Email: Illtud.Harri@bhpbilliton.com

United States
Tracey Whitehead, Investor & Media Relations
Tel:  US +1 713 599 6100 or +44 20 7802 4031
Mobile: +44 7917 648 093
Email: Tracey.Whitehead@bhpbilliton.com

South Africa
Alison Gilbert, Investor Relations
Tel: +27 11 376 2121  UK +44 20 7802 4183
Email: Alison.Gilbert@bhpbilliton.com

Subscribe to news alerts

No keyword(s) entered

Please ensure you enter a keyword and try searching again

Invalid email

Sorry, we are unable to subscribe you. Please ensure you have entered a valid email address and try again.

Subscription received

Thank you for subscribing to BHP Billiton news alerts. Please check your email for confirmation of your subscription.

Subscription confirmed

You have already signed up to our newsletter.

Loading the player...