Subscribe to news alerts

BHP Billiton has a progressive dividend policy. The aim of this policy is to steadily increase, or at least maintain our base dividend in US dollars at each half yearly payment.

Our dividend declaration dates coincide with the announcements of our interim and full year results.

Notice of 2014 Interim Dividend


Our Board today determined to pay an interim dividend of 59 US cents per share.

The dividend to be paid by BHP Billiton Limited will be fully franked for Australian taxation purposes.  Dividends for the BHP Billiton Group are determined in US dollars.  However, BHP Billiton Limited dividends are mainly paid in Australian dollars, and BHP Billiton Plc dividends are mainly paid in pounds sterling and South African rand to shareholders on the UK section and the South African section of the register, respectively.  Currency conversions will be based on the foreign currency exchange rates on the Record Date, except for the conversion into South African rand, which will take place on the last day to trade (cum dividend) on JSE Limited, being 28 February 2014.  Please note that all currency conversion elections must be registered by the Record Date, being 7 March 2014.

Any currency conversion elections made after this date will not apply to this dividend.

2014 Interim Results and Dividend​
Last day to trade cum dividend on JSE Limited and currency conversion into rand 28 February 2014​
Ex-Dividend Date (Australian & Johannesburg stock exchanges)​ 3 March 2014​
Ex-Dividend Date (London & New York stock exchanges​) 5 March 2014​
Record Date (including currency conversion and currency election dates, except for rand) 7 March 2014​
Payment Date 26 March 2014

American Depositary Shares (ADSs) each represent two fully paid ordinary shares and receive dividends accordingly.

BHP Billiton Plc shareholders registered on the South African section of the register will not be able to dematerialise or rematerialise their shareholdings between the dates of 3 and 7 March 2014 (inclusive), nor will transfers between the UK register and the South African register be permitted between the dates of 28 February and 7 March 2014 (inclusive).

Details of the currency exchange rates applicable for the dividend will be announced to the relevant stock exchanges following conversion and will appear on the Group's website. 

2014 Interim Dividend

The following table details the currency exchange rates applicable for the 2014 interim dividend:

​Dividend 59 US cents per share ​Exchange rate ​Dividend per ordinary share in local currency
Australian cents​ 0.911569​​ 64.723570​​
British pence​ 1.674845​​ 35.227140
New Zealand cents​ 0.849650​​ 69.440358​​
South African cents1 ​10.729500 633.040500​

 The dividend will be paid on 26 March 2014.

Summary of previous dividends