Minerals Australia

Minerals Australia
About Minerals Australia

Our Minerals Australia Business includes operations in Western Australia, Queensland, New South Wales and South Australia, focusing on iron ore, copper, coal and nickel.

Our principal iron ore operations are based in the Pilbara region of northern Western Australia. The operation comprises a complex integrated system of seven inland mining operations, more than 1,000 kilometres of rail, stock yards and two separate port facilities located in Port Hedland. Our operations are owned through a number of Joint Venture arrangements.

Our metallurgical coal assets produce high quality hard coking coal which is an essential raw material in the production of steel.  This coal is produced from our asset bases in Queensland (predominantly open cut mines owned in an alliance with Mitsubishi Development Pty Ltd and Mitsui). We also produce thermal coal primarily for use in the electric power generation industry New South Wales Energy Coal and the Indomet Coal Project.

Olympic Dam is Australia’s largest underground mine and produces copper cathode, uranium oxide concentrate, gold and silver. It is located 560 kilometres north of Adelaide, South Australia.


Mike Henry, President Operations, Minerals Australia


Iron Ore

Western Australia Iron Ore

Western Australia Iron Ore is one of the world’s premier suppliers of iron ore. Mining operations are supported by the town of Newman while Port Hedland houses the company’s port and rail facilities.

The massive Mt Whaleback mine, established in 1968, is the biggest single-pit open-cut iron ore mine in the world being more than five kilometres long and nearly 1.5 kilometres wide.  Adjacent are smaller deposits, Orebodies 29, 30 and 35. Smaller satellite mines – Wheelarra and Orebodies 18, 23, 24 and 25 – are located outside the town of Newman. The Yandi and Area C mines are located about 100 kilometres north-west of Newman. The Yarrie mine is 200 kilometres east of Port Hedland.

Facebook BHP Billiton Iron Ore Western Australia


BHP Billiton Mitsubishi Alliance, Australia

The BHP Billiton Mitsubishi Alliance (BMA) operates seven Bowen Basin mines – Goonyella Riverside, Broadmeadow, Daunia, Peak Downs, Saraji, Crinum, Blackwater and Caval Ridge – and the Hay Point Coal Terminal near Mackay. The mines are located in the coal-rich Bowen Basin of Central Queensland, which covers an area of 75,000 square kilometres of Permian Age marine and freshwater sediments. With the exception of the Crinum and Broadmeadow underground longwall operations, our mines are open-cut, using dragline and truck/shovel fleets for overburden removal. BHP Billiton owns 50 per cent of BMA.

Facebook BMA & BMC Queensland Community

BHP Billiton Mitsui Coal, Australia

BHP Billiton Mitsui Coal (BMC) operates two mines in the Bowen Basin: South Walker Creek Mine and Poitrel Mine.

South Walker Creek Mine is located on the eastern flank of the Bowen Basin, 35 kilometres west of the town of Nebo and 132 kilometres west of the Hay Point port facilities. Poitrel Mine is situated south-east of the town of Moranbah and began open-cut operations in October 2006. BHP Billiton owns 80 per cent of BMC.

Facebook BMA & BMC Queensland Community

New South Wales Energy Coal, Australia
Mt Arthur Coal

BHP Billiton’s open cut thermal coal mine at Mt Arthur is the largest individual coal production site in the New South Wales Hunter Valley. Mt Arthur Coal currently produces approximately 16 million tonnes each year for local and international customers in the Energy sector. Mt Arthur Coal is part of New South Wales Energy Coal which also manages BHP Billiton’s 35 per cent shareholding in the Newcastle Coal Infrastructure Group. To find out more about Mt Arthur Coal go to our Regulatory Information section.


Olympic Dam

Located 560 kilometres north of Adelaide, South Australia, Olympic Dam is Australia's largest underground mine, producing copper cathode, uranium oxide concentrate, gold and silver.


Nickel West

Nickel West is a fully integrated mine to market business comprising mines, concentrators, a smelter and refinery. All our Nickel West Operations are in Western Australia and include:

  • Mt Keith - a large, open-cut nickel mine and concentrator.
  • Leinster - two underground nickel mines and concentrator.
  • Kalgoorlie - a nickel concentrator and smelter which produce nickel concentrate and nickel matte.
  • Kwinana - produces nickel metal in the form of London Metal Exchange grade nickel briquettes and nickel powder as well as a range of saleable co-products.